Javascript not enabled!

About the City Council

About the City Council

The Modesto City Council is made up of seven elected officials. The Mayor is elected at-large by the entire City; while the six Councilmembers are elected by district by the residents within the respective district. Members of the City Council hold office for four year terms and are limited to two terms. Their terms of office expire in alternate odd numbered years, with a maximum of four Council seats up for election at any one time. The first City Council elections by district will take place in November 2009.

The Vice Mayor is elected from among Council members by a vote of City Council.

The Mayor of Modesto is the presiding officer of all City Council meetings and is authorized to sign legal documents on behalf of the City. He represents the City on local, state and national levels. In his absence, his duties are performed by the Vice Mayor.

The Modesto City Council is the City’s legislative body. It sets policies, approves budgets, determines tax rates and passes ordinances and resolutions to govern the City. Council also appoints citizen volunteers to more than 26 City advisory boards, committees, and commissions; and appoints and supervises the performance of the City Manager, City Attorney and City Clerk.

City Council meets in formal session on the first, second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at 1010 Tenth Street, Lower Level. Meetings are not held on the third or fifth Tuesday, unless a special meeting is called by the Council. All City Council meetings are open to the public, except portions of meetings in which legal, land acquisition or personnel matters are discussed.