About the City Council


City Council meetings are usually held at 5:30 PM on the 1st, 2nd, and 4th Tuesday of each month at 1010 10th Street, Lower Level, Modesto, CA 95354.  Check the City Council calendar for upcoming meeting dates.

All City Council meetings are open to the public, except portions of meetings in which legal, land acquisition or personnel matters are discussed.

Agendas & Minutes

View the City Council Agendas and Minutes.


The Modesto City Council is made up of 7 elected officials. The Mayor is elected at-large by the entire City; while the 6 Council members are elected by district by the residents within the respective district. Members of the City Council hold office for 4 year terms and are limited to 2 terms. Their terms of office expire in alternate odd numbered years, with a maximum of 4 Council seats up for election at any one time.

Responsibilities & Purpose

The Vice Mayor is elected from among Council members by a vote of City Council.

The Mayor of Modesto is the presiding officer of all City Council meetings and is authorized to sign legal documents on behalf of the City. The mayor represents the City on local, state and national levels. In the mayor's absence, the duties are performed by the Vice Mayor.

The Modesto City Council is the City’s legislative body. It sets policies, approves budgets, determines tax rates and passes ordinances and resolutions to govern the City. Council also appoints citizen volunteers to more than 26 City advisory boards, committees, and commissions; and appoints and supervises the performance of the City Manager, City Attorney and City Clerk.